TownsUtah
Park City, UT: Locals' Line town page
Locals' Line town page · checked 2026-10-15 (America/Denver). Verification key: Verified Verified = business/fact confirmed on a page checked on 2026-10-15 (URL given). Partial Partial = exists on a checked page but a detail is missing or comes only from a third-party listing. Unverified Unverified = not confirmed on any checked page; confirm before relying on it. Prices and hours appear only where printed on the cited page; they were not re-checked beyond 2026-10-15.
- Shuttles, verified / unverified
- 3 / 2
- Rentals and shops
- 7 / 7
- Lodging
- 4 / 3
- Conditions source
- Mountain Trails Foundation; Basin Recreation (dated 9/14)
Overview
Park City is a resort town in the Wasatch Back (about 45 minutes from Salt Lake City airport per The Chateaux Deer Valley FAQ: https://www.the-chateaux.com/contact-us/faq (opens in a new tab)). Riding is spread across three ski resorts with lift-served bike parks and a trail network that Jans describes as Utah's only IMBA Gold Level Ride Center (https://jans.com/pages/park-city-bike-rentals (opens in a new tab)). Deer Valley states roughly 400 miles of connected singletrack (https://deervalley.bike/ (opens in a new tab)); Westgate says "over 450 miles" (marketing figures, not reconciled). Logistics-wise, the town is easy without a car: the free city bus carries bikes and has a seasonal trail service to high trailheads (see Getting around). E-bike rule matters for rentals: Jans states e-bikes are allowed on paved pathways and soft-surface trails over 5 ft wide, but not on Park City's mountain-bike singletrack (exception: riders 65+ or with a mobility disability); e-bikes are allowed in Wasatch State Park (incl. WOW) (https://jans.com/pages/park-city-bike-rentals (opens in a new tab)).
Getting around / Shuttles
| Service | Status | What the source says | Source (checked 2026-10-15) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Park City Transit 9 Purple "Trail Service" (free public bus) | Verified | Trail Service to Bonanza Flat and Bloods Lake trailheads; Fri-Sun 5:40 a.m.-6:20 p.m., 20-min frequency, "through the fall"; Mon-Thu regular service 5:36 a.m.-6:06 p.m., 30-min frequency. Trail Service buses carry 8 bikes; regular buses' racks hold 2-3 bikes; e-bikes allowed but not on the front rack. Season end date: not stated (unverified), so confirm before you go. | https://www.parkcity.gov/services/transit/rider_guides/bikes_on_buses.php (opens in a new tab) ; https://parkcitytrails.org/transportation-parking/ (opens in a new tab) |
| Fox 'N Rox Shuttle | VerifiedUnverifiedVerified (season/hours unverified) | Park City shuttle picks up behind the 7-Eleven in the Canyons lower lot, next stop PCMR lot ~5 min later; Wasatch Crest shuttle from 3660 S Virginia Way (SLC side). Page title says "Starting at only $10." Cancel 24 h ahead or be charged; WOW trail shuttled in May and September (weather-dependent); custom shuttles need 9-12 riders. Operating season and per-trip prices not on the page text. | https://foxnroxshuttle.com/park-city-mountain-bike-shuttle/ (opens in a new tab) |
| Big Rack Shuttle | Verified | Wasatch Crest shuttles; Park City side on odd days, Salt Lake side on even days; also WOW trails and one-side-to-other Crest runs; multiple pickup points in SLC and Park City; no e-bikes on shuttles (Forest Service rule per page); free reschedule/cancel up to 24 h. Phones on page: Salt Lake (801) 882-7225; Moab (435) 220-0228. Prices not shown on the page text. | https://www.bigrackshuttle.com/wasatch-crest-bike-shuttle (opens in a new tab) |
| Summit Bike Share (e-bike rental network) | Partial | Park City's page says e-bikes are available to rent across the Snyderville Basin/Park City, 24/7 in season. Operator site not confirmed; pricing unverified. | https://www.parkcity.gov/services/transit/rider_guides/bikes_on_buses.php (opens in a new tab) |
| Bonanza Winter Shuttle (free, fat-bike capable) | VerifiedNot runningVerified, not running | Ran Fri-Sun Dec 19, 2025 to Apr 19, 2026; 4 fat bikes per trip. Noted for winter planning only; 2026-27 dates not found. | https://parkcitytrails.org/transportation-parking/ (opens in a new tab) |
Gap: no commercial shuttle covering Deer Valley/PCMR bike-park laps was found; both resorts run lift-served parks (see Rentals).
Rentals & shops
| Business | Type | Status | Details printed on source | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jans Mountain Outfitters (Park Ave) | Rental + shop | Verified | Mountain bike $59 half-day (4 h) / $75 full day / $450 weekly; enduro/gravity $85 day / $595 week; e-MTB $159 day / $875 week; kids $30/$40/$240; high-performance $149/day (Santa Cruz). Helmet, pedals, saddlebag repair kit included. Rental shuttle available (call). Hotel delivery $20/bike. Phone 435-649-4949; parentals@jans.com. | https://jans.com/pages/park-city-bike-rentals (opens in a new tab) |
| Park City Mountain (Vail Resorts) bike rentals | Rental (resort) | Verified | Downhill, trail, path, e-bike and kids packages; 20% off booking online ahead; helmet included; FAQ says rentals typically May through August, depending on conditions; phone 970-754-0033. Prices not on page. | https://www.parkcitymountain.com/plan-your-trip/rentals/bike.aspx (opens in a new tab) |
| Deer Valley Resort bike park rentals | Rental (resort) | VerifiedVerified (season ended) | Bike and helmet rentals, repairs, lessons and tours; call 435-645-6648 / 435-645-6606 / 888-754-8477. Late-fee/cancellation schedule printed. Per KPCW (June 8, 2026), 2026 summer ops expected through Sept 20, so the park is closed for the season now. | https://deervalley.bike/ (opens in a new tab) ; https://www.kpcw.org/park-city/2026-06-08/deer-valley-readies-to-welcome-bikers-on-new-trails (opens in a new tab) |
| Cole Sport (Park Ave flagship) | Shop + rental | Verified | Homepage says the Park Avenue store, open year round, has "a full bike shop"; text mentions "bike gear or rentals" and a 20% online-reservation discount (that discount line is written about ski rentals; bike pricing not shown). Phone/hours not on the page. | https://www.colesport.com/ (opens in a new tab) |
| Storm Cycles (Kimball Junction) | Shop (+ rentals per third party) | Partial | Homepage: "full service year round bike shop"... "suspension experts"; e-bikes featured. Rentals and phone (435-200-9120) come from the third-party aggregator below, not from Storm's own page; address unverified. | https://stormcycles.net/ (opens in a new tab) ; https://parkcitymountainbike.com/park-city-bike-rentals/ (opens in a new tab) |
| White Pine Touring, Silver Star Ski & Sport, Switchback Sports, Park City Bike Demos (mobile delivery vans), Canyons Mountain Rentals | Rental/shops | PartialPartial (aggregator only) | Described, with phone numbers, on Park City Mountain Biking's rental guide. White Pine's own site returned HTTP 500 on the check date; others were not confirmed. Treat as leads, not verified listings. | https://parkcitymountainbike.com/park-city-bike-rentals/ (opens in a new tab) |
Verified-listing note: Printed trail maps are sold at all Park City bike shops per the same aggregator's FAQ (https://parkcitymountainbike.com/local-info/ (opens in a new tab)), Partial.
Where to stay (bike-friendly)
| Property | Status | Bike-relevant facts | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Snow Flower Condominiums (401 Silver King Dr, base of PCM) | Verified | Amenities list "Bike Storage, Bike FixIt Station"; complimentary underground parking; free town shuttle access per FAQ; phone 866.990.9262. | https://www.parkcitylodging.com/rentals/complexes/snow-flower-condominiums (opens in a new tab) |
| Westgate Park City Resort & Spa (3000 Canyons Resort Dr) | Verified | Complimentary bike valet/storage; 2-night "Bike Rentals" package includes 2 bikes for 1 day from Aloha Ski Rentals with helmet and lock. That package page says book by June 23 / travel by Aug 23, 2026, so it is expired. Resort phone 435-655-2240. | https://www.westgateresorts.com/hotels/utah/park-city/westgate-park-city-resort/specials/bike-rental-package/ (opens in a new tab) |
| Newpark Resort (1476 Newpark Blvd) | Verified | "Complimentary ski and bike storage"; guests can rent bikes for the Swaner Preserve path; free parking; transit info. Phone 435-649-3600. | https://www.newparkresort.com/amenities/ (opens in a new tab) |
| The Chateaux Deer Valley (Silver Lake Village) | Verified | "Complimentary usage of the secured ski and bike storage room"; free on-demand shuttle to Main Street 7 a.m.-11 p.m. | https://www.the-chateaux.com/contact-us/faq (opens in a new tab) |
| Silver Star, Silver Baron Lodge, Prospector Lodge | PartialPartial (aggregator) | Recommended by Park City Mountain Biking's lodging page (Silver Star: on-site bike shop and at the foot of Armstrong/Spiro; Snow Flower: dedicated storage). Properties' own sites were not confirmed. A portion of bookings through that site funds trail work. | https://parkcitymountainbike.com/bike-friendly-lodging/ (opens in a new tab) |
No source checked confirms an on-site bike wash at any Park City property (Snow Flower has a FixIt station only).
Conditions & seasons
Official trail-conditions pages (checked 2026-10-15):
- Mountain Trails Foundation Trail Report: https://mountaintrails.org/trail-report/ (opens in a new tab) . Latest post (about 1 day old when checked, dated Wed Oct 14): Empire Pass parking closed for construction of the winter Bonanza warming hut; "quite soggy" up top; MTF removing signs on parts of PCM and Deer Valley for winter prep; lower Silver Queen closed for Rocky Mountain Power construction (Loose Moose is the recommended alternative); Anchor Trees is hike-only.
- Basin Recreation "What's Open" and Trail Map & Conditions: https://basinrecreationutah.gov/whats-open/ (opens in a new tab) and https://basinrecreationutah.gov/ (opens in a new tab) (links to the interactive summer map with a conditions layer). The What's Open page says "Updated September 14, 2026" and "Trails: Partially Open: trails are melting," which is stale boilerplate, so rely on the map layer. Trailside Bike Park listed "Open."
Best seasons: Park City Mountain Biking's FAQ (https://parkcitymountainbike.com/local-info/ (opens in a new tab)): lower trails start melting in April and are rideable in May; typically dry by June and snow-free through September; "favorite time to ride is in the fall." Mud rule: if it sticks to heels or wheels, turn around (MTF report). Lift-served parks: Deer Valley expected to close Sept 20 (KPCW); PCM rental FAQ says typical May-August rentals. Right now (mid-October) the singletrack is rideable but high elevations are wet and trail signage is coming down for winter. Winter: Jans rents fat bikes via White Pine Touring (https://jans.com/pages/park-city-bike-rentals (opens in a new tab)).
Sources (all checked 2026-10-15)
- https://www.parkcity.gov/services/transit/rider_guides/bikes_on_buses.php (opens in a new tab)
- https://parkcitytrails.org/transportation-parking/ (opens in a new tab)
- https://foxnroxshuttle.com/park-city-mountain-bike-shuttle/ (opens in a new tab)
- https://www.bigrackshuttle.com/wasatch-crest-bike-shuttle (opens in a new tab)
- https://jans.com/pages/park-city-bike-rentals (opens in a new tab)
- https://www.parkcitymountain.com/plan-your-trip/rentals/bike.aspx (opens in a new tab)
- https://deervalley.bike/ (opens in a new tab) ; https://www.kpcw.org/park-city/2026-06-08/deer-valley-readies-to-welcome-bikers-on-new-trails (opens in a new tab)
- https://www.colesport.com/ (opens in a new tab) ; https://stormcycles.net/ (opens in a new tab)
- https://parkcitymountainbike.com/park-city-bike-rentals/ (opens in a new tab) ; /bike-friendly-lodging/ ; /local-info/
- https://www.parkcitylodging.com/rentals/complexes/snow-flower-condominiums (opens in a new tab)
- https://www.westgateresorts.com/hotels/utah/park-city/westgate-park-city-resort/specials/bike-rental-package/ (opens in a new tab)
- https://www.newparkresort.com/amenities/ (opens in a new tab) ; https://www.the-chateaux.com/contact-us/faq (opens in a new tab)
- https://mountaintrails.org/trail-report/ (opens in a new tab) ; https://basinrecreationutah.gov/whats-open/ (opens in a new tab) ; https://basinrecreationutah.gov/ (opens in a new tab)
- Pages that did not load on the check date: https://www.whitepinetouring.com/ (opens in a new tab) (HTTP 500); https://www.jans.com/rentals/bike-rentals (opens in a new tab) (404, replaced by the URL above); parkcity.gov summer trails page (404).
Gaps / unverified
- Fox 'N Rox and Big Rack: current-season dates and per-ride prices not on the page text.
- Park City Transit Trail Service end date for 2026 not stated.
- Storm Cycles address and rental terms; White Pine, Silver Star, Switchback, PC Bike Demos, Canyons rentals: aggregator-only.
- Summit Bike Share operator site and pricing were not confirmed.
- Cole Sport bike-rental prices/hours not on page.